Traffic & Misdemeanor Citations
800 South C Street
Virginia City, NV 89440
P.O. Box 674
Virginia City, NV 89440
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Pay Court Fees Online
For questions about traffic school go to the Nevada DMV's website. Their website should have the answers and also provides a list of schools throughout the state.
Although many traffic violations are now civil infractions, there are still traffic violations that are misdemeanors. If you have questions about a CIVIL INFRACTION, you may email us at email@example.com. You may also call our office at 775-847-0962.
- Pay Your Court Fines Online
- Note: Before proceeding, confirm payment amount and case number with court at 775-847-0962 to ensure there are no errors which may result in a bench warrant.
- Si usted no habla a Ingles, puede llamar a nuestro Tribunal y pedir los servicios de un inteprete. Cuando nuestro empleado contesta el teléfono, dar al empleado su nombre y decir, "I need a Spanish translator, please."
Our Court offers remote hearings. If you have transportation issues or should not be driving, please contact our Court at least one day in advance of your appearance and request a remote appearance.
Misdemeanor citations issued by the Storey County Sheriff, Nevada Highway Patrol, the State Contractor's Board, and the Department of Wildlife are set for appearance before the judge on Wednesdays. If there is a conflict with the appearance date on your citation, you may call the Justice Court Clerk at 775-847-0962 to request that the appearance date be reset. Refer to your citation for payment instructions if you intend to pay the fine prior to your arraignment.
At the arraignment, the judge will advise you of your constitutional rights and read you the charge(s) as they appear on the citation. You should be prepared to enter a plea to the charge(s). After entering a plea of guilty or no contest, the judge will allow you to make a statement to the court and then proceed to sentencing.
If you plead not guilty, a bench trial will be scheduled. You may represent yourself or consult with an attorney. An attorney will be very valuable in evaluating the facts of your case, applying the law, presenting your evidence, and challenging the State's evidence.
The Bench Trial
You have the right to a trial within 60 days of your arraignment date. Trials on misdemeanor traffic cases are "bench" trials, which means that there is no jury. The judge will decide the case.
One of our clerks will be happy to familiarize you with our courtroom before your trial begins.
The payment is due on the day it is assessed. Cash, cashier's check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, or a debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo are accepted. Upon request, the judge may grant a payment plan or community service.
If you choose not to see the judge, you may forfeit (send in the amount due as bail on your citation prior to the court date) and the case will be closed. Please follow the directions on the reverse side of the citation.
This option may be available if you have not attended traffic school in the last 12 months. There are also courses available on the internet.