Storey County PO Box 176 Virginia City, NV 89440

Recreational Marijuana Regulations FAQs


Where can you smoke or consume marijuana?
Marijuana can be smoked or consumed at a private residence or in the privacy of your own home.

Where can't you smoke or consume marijuana?
Marijuana cannot be consumed or smoked in any public place, including but not limited to, parks, events, moving vehicles, casinos, bars, hotels/motels, concerts, festivals, marijuana facilities (dispensaries) or while walking down a street. People are not permitted to smoke or consume marijuana in federally subsidized housing or any federally owned land in the State of Nevada.

What age do you have to be to legally smoke or consume marijuana?

No one under age 21 may possess weed in Nevada. The only exception is if you have a medical marijuana card. Juveniles under 18 caught with marijuana for the first or second time are considered children “in need of supervision” and not delinquent. They get placed under informal supervision and must perform up to 24 hours of community service. For a third or subsequent offense, minors may be charged with delinquency. Wrongful possession of marijuana by anyone 18 and older – or falsely representing yourself as 21 or older in order to obtain marijuana – is a misdemeanor carrying:

  • up to 24 hours of community service; and/or
  • a victim impact panel; and/or
  • an evaluation.

Finally, minors under 21 who loiter at an adult-use cannabis establishment can be fined $500.

How much marijuana can someone have with them in public?
In public, a person can have: one ounce (28.3 grams) of marijuana, or one-eighth of an ounce (3.5 grams) of concentrated marijuana, or one-eighth of an ounce (3.5 grams) of concentrated marijuana in edibles.

Can someone grow marijuana at home?
Homeowners are permitted to grow 6 recreational plants per person, up to 12 plants total, at home if the property is more than 25 miles away from a licensed retail facility. Renters need the consent of the property owner to grow marijuana. Plants must be kept out of sight.

Can you keep marijuana in your car?
Yes, in certain amounts. Each person in the car over age 21 can have: one ounce (28.3 grams) of marijuana, or one-eighth of an ounce (3.5 grams) of concentrated marijuana, or one-eighth of an ounce (3.5 grams) of concentrated marijuana in edibles. It is also legal to possess up to six live plants per car.

What can’t you do if you’ve consumed marijuana?
If you’re under the influence of marijuana, you aren’t permitted to drive, endanger your child or possess a firearm. If a driver is suspected of being under the influence of marijuana, law enforcement can test the driver’s blood to determine if he or she is under the influence. It is unlawful to drive if you have more than 2 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana in your blood or 5 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite in your blood.

Can my employer fire me for using marijuana?
Yes. There are no workplace protections provided under Nevada’s current medical or recreational marijuana laws. If your workplace prohibits marijuana, you can be reprimanded or terminated if you test positive.