Storey County PO Box 176 Virginia City, NV 89440


Storey County is an active participant in regional and statewide activities. Our Commissioners regularly attend board meetings to give Storey County representation in these activities as well as to promote the function of the individual boards.

From tourism to historic preservation and drug enforcement to economic development, our Commissioners are active participants in the following boards (the individual Commissioners who sit on these boards are indicated). In some cases, the Commissioner also serve as Chairman.

Board Commissioner(s)
4th Ward School and Museum Board Jay Carmona
Carson Water Subconservancy District Jim Hindle, with Austin Osborne as Alternate
Comstock Historic District Clay Mitchell
County Board of Equalization Jay Carmona - Chair
Marshall McBride
Scott Jolcover
Debt Management Board Gary Hames
Arika Perry

Jay Carmona
Dave Hart (Canyon GID)
Economic Development Authority Western Nevada Austin Osborne
Legislative Representative Clay Mitchell and Austin Osborne, with others (including department heads and staff) as needed
Lockwood Senior Center Lance Gilman
Natural Resources Conservation District (USDA) Kathy Canfield
Nevada Association of Counties (NACO) Jay Carmona, with Lance Gilman as Alternate
Nevada Commission for the Reconstruction of the V&T Railway Clay Mitchell
Nevada Works Lance Gilman, with Austin Osborne as Alernate
Oversight of Public Works, Fire, and Community Development Departments Lance Gilman
Safety Committee Chris Hannum-Chair
St. Mary’s Art Center Jay Carmona
State Land Use Planning Advisory Council Kathy Canfield
Northern Nevada Development Authority Clay Mitchell--Elected Official Seat
Austin Osborne--Appointed Official Seat
Truckee River Flood Management Authority Lance Gilman, with Kathy Canfield as Alernate
Virginia City Tourism Commission (VCTC) Paul Hoyle
Ron Gallagher
A. Perry
Angelo Petrini
Jay Carmona
Virginia City Senior Center Lance Gilman
Washoe-Storey Conservation District Kathy Canfield
Western Nevada Development District Clay Mitchell
Wildlife Advisory Board Greg Hess Sr.
Rich Bacus
Casey Kelly
Rob DuFresne
Greg "Bum" Hess

Austin Osborne
County Manager

County Commissioners
26 S. B St.
P.O. Box 176
Virginia City, NV 89440

Ph: 775-847-0968
Fx: 775-847-0949


Monday - Friday
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Staff Directory